Ecom Store Pro

Shopify for a Rental Business: What It Can and Cannot Do

You can run a rental business on Shopify with an app: what it adds (availability, deposits, returns, late fees), what stays manual, and when a platform wins.

Listen to a short brief of this article
Hands-free while you multitask

The short version

You can run a rental business on Shopify with a rental app on top of your plan: dates, deposits and returns arrive through an app you install.

Eight of the nine rental listings we read publish a free tier, such as FlexCon at 10 rental orders a month or Cowlendar at 5 bookings a month.

Both native deposit routes we found, B2B deposit requirements and partial payments, are Shopify Plus features; rental apps describe collecting a security deposit at checkout instead.

Pick the app by the one capability you cannot go without: for e-signed contracts, RentBase is the only listing of the nine that names them, on its $29 Pro tier, while Rentshelf's help docs describe rental agreements signed with a typed name on its Growth plan.

The Quick Verdict
Key Takeaway: Shopify runs a rental business through an app rather than a built-in feature: the nine listings we read on October 30, 2026 document booking calendars, deposits, late fees and returns. Pick by the one capability you cannot go without, because none of the nine documents every job at once.

These rows pick by what you rent and how it comes back. Every route below is the same shape — an ordinary Shopify store plus one app that keeps a date ledger — so the real choice is which capability you cannot go without: multi-unit availability, a deposit at checkout, a counter handover or a signed agreement (the full set of listings is further down).

Which rental setup, by what you rent

Your situationPickWhy
Party or event stock — many identical units, overlapping datesMikoIt is the only listing of the nine that states multi-unit inventory with day-by-day overbooking prevention in those words
Tools or equipment worth more than the rental feeRental Booking & Deposits (Auremist)It documents automatic security deposits at checkout; both native routes we found — B2B deposit requirements and partial payments — are Plus
One-of-a-kind pieces: garments, instruments, single unitsA calendar app; condition grading stays your processNo inventory state we found marks an item as rented out; where the store uses unavailable inventory states, a damaged unit can be moved to Unavailable, marked Damaged
You hand items over and take them back at a counterShopify POS plus FlexCon or RentshelfFlexCon is the only listing of the nine that documents creating a rental through POS; Rentshelf lists Shopify POS pickup and return check-in on its Starter plan
Every booking has to be signedRentBase Pro at $29 a monthRentBase's is the only listing of the nine that names contracts with e-signature; Rentshelf's help docs describe typed-name agreement signatures on its Growth plan
What's New Since Publication: Updated since publication · 4 changes
  1. Rental listings re-read, review counts updated
    We re-read the rental app listings on October 30, 2026: review counts moved for FlexCon, IzyRent, Product Rentals Pro and Cowlendar, tiers and prices held, and we added Rentshelf, a ninth rental listing our earlier search had missed.
  2. Shopify is moving variant editing onto the product page
    Shopify's changelog of October 29, 2026 says variants are now managed on the product page, with no more switching between product and variant pages. Plus and higher plans can turn it on now in Test Drives and get it automatically on December 12, 2026; other plans get it gradually from December. We added this next to the Help Center quote that sends you to a variant's own page to set its price.
  3. Rental app listings re-read on October 14
    Product Rentals Pro lists security deposits and insurance/damage protection on its $49.95 Growth tier, FlexCon lists a Professional tier at $59.99 for 300 rental orders a month, and only Rental Booking & Deposits names a daily or weekly rate outright. The listings below were re-read on October 14, 2026.
  4. Store policies: a seventh type and automated policies
    Shopify's Help page on store policies now lists seven policy types, with Contact information added, and since October 8, 2026 Shopify can generate some of them automatically from your store settings. A rental agreement is still not among them.

A rental catalogue breaks the rule ecommerce software is built on: the same unit sells many times over, on dates that must not overlap, and then comes back. Shopify counts inventory as a quantity available for sale — a number with no dates attached.

Opening the store itself is the ordinary part. Theme, products, checkout and shipping work exactly as they do for any other store, and how a Shopify store itself is built is a separate guide; everything specific to renting sits on top of that.

So this is a stack decision first, and a platform one only at the edges named later: what Shopify does on its own, what a rental app documents, and what stays your manual process. Renting out vehicles, boats or property sits outside this page — those carry licensing and insurance questions of their own.

Does Shopify Have a Native Rental Feature?

Key takeaway

The first place most merchants look is the product form: a start date, an end date, and a calendar that blocks the days an item is already out. Nothing we read in Shopify's own documentation describes that field.

No Shopify page we found — across the Help Center's inventory, policy, payments and product-variant sections, shopify.dev and shopify.com — documents renting as a built-in function of the platform. The surfaces behind that reading, and the date, are in the box titled What we looked for and did not find, just below. What the documentation does contain is a developer-facing mention of the use case.

Allow buyers to select a start and end date for subscriptions, rentals, or booking windows.
Shopify.dev — Checkout UI extensions — DatePicker ·

That component belongs to checkout UI extensions — a developer-facing building block, not a setting in your admin — and the sentence is a note about what a date picker is for. It tells you Shopify knows the use case exists. It does not give you a rental store.

The neighbouring case separates here, because the app classes are different: booking a person's time is not the same job as handing over an object that has to come back. Shopify's page on selling services tells merchants to install an app from the Shopify App Store to let customers book — and that side, booking a person's time rather than handing over an object, has its own guide.

What we looked for and did not find

Several statements on this page are absences: a native rental feature, an inventory state that means rented out, a rental agreement or an age policy among Shopify's store policies, and an age check or an auto-generated contract in the rental listings themselves.

Each rests on the same reading: Shopify's Help Center pages on inventory and inventory states, store policies, partial payments, B2B payment terms, pre-order setup, selling services and product variants; the checkout UI extensions reference on shopify.dev; and shopify.com's own rental-business post and checkout page — all read on October 30, 2026. The nine App Store rental listings named further down were read the same day; where a sentence is about those listings, it names them itself.

Why Shopify's Inventory Cannot Say "Rented Out"

Key takeaway

Shopify's inventory model names five states, and the list is worth reading with a rental in mind:

The closest thing to a rental is the fourth one, and Shopify's own description of it shows why it isn't:

Unavailable inventory refers to the number of units set aside by apps or held for other reasons, such as damaged, quality control, or safety stock.
Shopify Help Center — Inventory states ·

Units held back by an app, damaged stock, quality control and safety stock all land in the same bucket, so Unavailable tells you a unit is not sellable — never that it is with a customer until Friday. Shopify defines inventory as the quantity available for sale, which is why all nine listings in this guide describe date tracking of their own rather than a view onto Shopify's.

What a Rental App Actually Adds

Key takeaway

Split the work into three tiers and the stack stops being a shopping list. Shopify itself does the ordinary commerce — a product, a price, a checkout, a shipping or pickup method — while a rental app adds the time dimension and the money attached to it.

What is left is yours: the condition of the object, the words in your policy, and the law where you operate. The named listings appear one by one as each job comes up, and they are gathered in one place in The Nine Rental Listings We Read further down.

The six jobs a rental stack has to do
The jobWhat Shopify does on its ownWhat a rental listing documentsWhat stays your process
Keeping the dates freeCounts stock as a quantity, with no dates attachedDynamic calendars, blocked dates, buffers, day-by-day preventionDeciding how long a buffer has to be
A rate per day or weekEvery variant carries its own priceDaily and weekly rate logic on one listing; daily, tiered and fixed pricing on another; rental by date or time with duration discounts on a thirdHow the period maps onto your products
Holding a security depositB2B deposit requirements and partial payments, both on PlusAutomatic deposits at checkout, one-click refunds, rules for high-value stockThe amount, and when you release it
A signed agreement or an age checkStore policies such as returns, privacy and terms of service, some of which can be automated; none is a rental agreementContracts with e-signature on one listing; typed-name agreement signatures in one more app's docs; a liability checkbox on another; an age check on noneThe wording, the age you require and the law where you trade
Returns, damage and late feesFive inventory states, none meaning rented outReturn reminders, overdue emails, late fees and deposit refunds in one dashboardGrading the condition of the object
The handover itselfOrdinary shipping and local pickupBuffers set by delivery method; POS named by three listings — one to create a rental, one to take payment, one for pickup and return check-inThe counter routine and the checks at both ends

Shopify Help Center and shopify.dev pages read October 30, 2026; app capabilities as described on the nine App Store listings read the same day.

Keeping One Item From Being Booked Twice

Key takeaway

IzyRent's listing describes a calendar you never fill in by hand: you don't set each availability date, because in its words "It's fully dynamic." That is the model most rental catalogues need, since a calendar maintained manually drifts the first week you are busy.

The second half of the job is the gap around a booking. FlexCon promises to "Prevent double bookings with live stock, buffer times, and delivery methods", RentBase lets you "Configure blocked dates, buffers, rental durations, discounts, quantities, and product-specific rules", and Product Rentals Pro sets "default buffers for rentals based on delivery method (e.g. pick-up vs post)". Buffers are what stop a Friday return and a Friday pickup colliding when the item needs cleaning, charging or a courier leg in between.

Where the catalogue holds several copies of the same item, the requirement gets stricter: availability has to be tracked per unit and per day. Among the nine, Miko's listing states it in the plainest words — "Multi-unit inventory with day-by-day overbooking prevention" — and Rentshelf's says availability "is checked against stock for every date".

How a Daily or Weekly Rate Sits on a Shopify Product

Key takeaway

Two listings name a daily rate outright: Rental Booking & Deposits lists daily and weekly rate logic as a plan feature, and Rentshelf lists daily, tiered, weekend and seasonal pricing plus fixed rental packages, while FlexCon offers rental by date or time with duration discounts.

On the Shopify side the relevant mechanic is variants, and the documentation is specific about where a price lives:

When you add a product, you can adjust the Price, Inventory, and Shipping settings for the product from the product details page. However, when you add variants to the product, you need to adjust those settings for each variant from the variant details page.
Shopify Help Center — Adding variants ·

Shopify is replacing that separate variant details page: on its redesigned product page, you open and edit each variant on the product page itself. Shopify's changelog says Plus and higher plans can turn it on now in Test Drives and get it automatically on December 12, 2026, and other plans get it gradually from December. Either way, the price still sits on each variant.

Put a per-variant price next to a daily or weekly rate and the obvious construction is a product with "1 day" and "1 week" as variants, each carrying its own price. That is our reading of the two facts. Before you build a catalogue on it, ask how your app expects a period price to be entered.

Deposits, Agreements and Age Checks

Key takeaway

It is easy to file deposits and paperwork together, and they behave nothing alike. One is a payment you take and give back; the other is a record that a person accepted terms. Shopify's answers to them come from opposite ends of the platform.

Can You Hold a Security Deposit?

Key takeaway

Shopify does have a native deposit mechanism. It is documented for the B2B channel, and its page states the boundary in one line:

Deposit requirements are available only on the Shopify Plus plan.
Shopify Help Center — B2B payment terms ·

Two native routes we found are both gated to Shopify Plus, and a third deposit option belongs to pre-orders, which Shopify documents as running through a pre-order app:

  • B2B deposit requirements — Shopify Plus. Payment for the deposit is due up front and the remaining balance on payment terms; once the deposit is captured, the order's payment status changes to Partially paid in the admin.
  • Partial payments — Shopify Plus. Shopify's page on partial payments says the feature is available to stores on that plan, and a recorded partial payment moves the order to Partially paid as well.
  • A pre-order deposit — an option on pre-orders, not on a rental. Pre-order setup documents a partial deposit due at checkout with the remaining amount due at a later date, and that passage names no plan — but it covers a product you have not shipped yet, not one you hand over and take back. How that deposit and its later balance work is in our pre-orders guide.

Which is why, in practice, deposits are an app feature. Rental Booking & Deposits advertises collecting "automatic security deposits at checkout", Miko describes "Refundable deposits with one-click refunds to the original payment method", FlexCon sells "Advanced security deposit rules to protect high-value rental inventory", and IzyRent offers a "Deposit Option & Pay Later for caution and partial online payment".

Cowlendar names deposit and prepayment on its Starter, Basic and Growth cards, while its free card says only "Unlimited features" and 5 bookings a month.

Rentshelf, one of the nine listings, says it collects refundable deposits in Shopify checkout. Our Rentshelf review tested that on a development store, including which checkout path charges the deposit, how the deposit is taxed and how you refund it.

None of that is the whole deposit story on Shopify. The mechanics behind it — draft orders, payment terms, deposit apps and where each one stops — belong to another guide: which native mechanism can hold part of the money back.

Rental Agreements, Liability and Age Checks

Key takeaway

Start with what the platform gives you. Shopify's Help Center lists the store policies you can manage:

You can manage the following policies for your Shopify store: Return policy, Privacy policy, Terms of service, Shipping policy, Legal notice, Contact information, Subscription policy
Shopify Help Center — Adding store policies ·

No rental agreement, and no age policy. No Shopify page we found adds either one to those store policies or describes a built-in age gate in checkout; the surfaces behind that reading are in the box What we looked for and did not find, up in Does Shopify Have a Native Rental Feature?

Shopify's developer documentation does name verifying a customer's age or ID at checkout as a use case for a Cart and Checkout Validation Function — custom validation whose errors block a customer from proceeding through checkout. Whether Shopify verifies age at all has its own answer.

In the listings, the paperwork story is thin. RentBase is the one of the nine that names a contract engine — "Dynamic Contracts and E-Signature" — available on its Pro tier at $29 a month rather than its free one.

Rentshelf's help docs add rental agreements on its Growth plan, signed with a typed name through the customer's private booking link. Rental Booking & Deposits offers a "Liability & Agreement Checkbox" from its Professional tier at $49 a month, which is a tick box recording consent rather than a signed document.

Age is the sharper gap. None of the nine rental listings we read on October 30, 2026 — Product Rentals Pro, IzyRent, FlexCon, RentBase, Rental Booking & Deposits, Miko, Cowlendar, Wise Rental and Rentshelf — documents verifying a renter's age.

The apps that do verify identity sit in a different category altogether: Real ID, a general-purpose KYC app, touches rentals only in passing — its listing's meta description promises to "protect rentals with KYC". If age matters for what you rent, treat it as a separate tool and a separate decision.

Whether you may rent a category of goods at all, and under what licence, is a question for your jurisdiction — and even Shopify's own rental-business post says so plainly:

Note that in some cases, you may need a business license or permit to operate.
Shopify Blog — Rental business ideas ·

Nothing on this page is legal advice, and the boundary is deliberate: your agreement's wording, the age you require and the permits you hold are decisions to take with someone who knows the law where you trade.

Handing the Item Over — and Getting It Back

Key takeaway

Sending out and taking back are separate operations with separate failure modes, and only one of them looks like ecommerce. Going out is a fulfilment — pick, pack, hand over — and the only rental-specific part is the buffer that holds the transit days. Coming back is the half with no rental-specific native vocabulary: the unit has to be inspected, graded and put back on the calendar before anyone else can book those dates.

Counter Pickup, Shipping and Shopify POS

Key takeaway

The delivery leg of a rental is not free time. A unit posted out on Monday is not back on the shelf the day the customer ships it, which is why Product Rentals Pro sets "default buffers for rentals based on delivery method (e.g. pick-up vs post)" — the buffer is the model's way of holding those days.

Product Rentals Pro's and RentBase's docs describe it as a hold on availability that leaves the customer's booking dates unchanged, and no app we read says buffer days are charged — so build transit time into your rate or rental length yourself.

Counter handover is the thinner side. FlexCon is the only one of the nine listings that documents creating a rental at the till — "Create manual rental via POS or in-app" — and lists Shopify POS among the apps it works with. Product Rentals Pro names POS only as a way to take payment for rentals created in admin, Rentshelf lists Shopify POS pickup and return check-in on its Starter plan, and the other six make no POS claim on their listings.

The vendors' help docs split on whether a counter rental closes the same dates online:

  • Cowlendar says POS bookings "sync instantly" so online and in-person schedules stay aligned, on its Elite plan or higher.
  • Miko's FAQ says rental bookings are "online-only".
  • FlexCon, Product Rentals Pro and RentBase do not say.

Check this in the app before you rent the same unit from the counter and the website.

Booking apps for services are further ahead on this point, which is one more reason not to assume the two app classes behave alike. Whether your counter needs the paid till tier at all is a separate decision: whether the counter needs POS Pro has its own guide.

What Happens When the Item Comes Back Damaged or Late

Key takeaway

On the Shopify side, a damaged return has somewhere to go. Shopify's page on adjusting inventory quantities says "Unavailable inventory is on hand, but can't be sold" and lists Damaged among the unavailable inventory states, so if your store uses unavailable inventory states, you can move the unit there yourself when it comes back.

The listings cover the process rather than an inventory state. Miko describes managing "active rentals, returns, late fees, and deposit refunds from one dashboard" and sending "booking confirmations, return reminders, and overdue emails" on the merchant's behalf; FlexCon describes "Automated rental emails for upcoming bookings, returns due, late alerts & more"; Product Rentals Pro advertises admin tools "incl. fulfilments and returns".

Cancelling is the merchant's job in the docs we read — in the app, or by cancelling the Shopify order, which Product Rentals Pro says turns the rental Cancelled automatically. Cowlendar is the exception: customers can cancel, and reschedule from a Manage Bookings block that needs the new customer accounts. We found no separate change-dates action in FlexCon, RentBase or Miko.

Deciding that a returned dress is still rentable, that a drill has one more season in it, or that a scratch costs part of the deposit is a grading process you run — and when the answer is that the item leaves the rental pool and goes on sale, grading condition and pricing by it is the guide for that side.

The Nine Rental Listings We Read, and What Each Documents

Key takeaway

What follows is what we found on October 30, 2026, not a census. Shopify's App Store search renders in the browser, so completeness cannot be proved from outside; treat this as a dated snapshot of nine listings and check the store yourself before committing.

Read it capability by capability rather than listing by listing. The question is not which app is best — that depends on the object you rent — but which capability you cannot be without, and how many listings document it at all.

What each listing documents

Mikoby Tripster Developers
Named tier, read Oct 30, 2026
Free
10 lifetime confirmed bookings · Starter $19.95/mo: 50 bookings/mo · Growth $49.95/mo: 200 bookings/mo · Pro $89.95/mo: 500 bookings/mo
Availability
Multi-unit inventory with day-by-day overbooking prevention
Deposit
Refundable deposits with one-click refunds
Agreement / liability
Not stated
Returns & late fees
Active rentals, returns, late fees and deposit refunds in one dashboard; overdue emails
POS
Not stated
Rating (reviews)
No reviews yet (listing launched June 2026)
Rental Booking & Depositsby Auremist
Named tier, read Oct 30, 2026
Free
1 rental product · Essential $29/mo · Professional $49/mo · Enterprise $99/mo
Availability
Daily, multi-day or hourly booking calendars
Deposit
Automatic security deposits at checkout
Agreement / liability
Liability & agreement checkbox, from Professional
Returns & late fees
Not stated
POS
Not stated
Rating (reviews)
5.0 (2 reviews — too few to read as a signal)
FlexConby FlexConversion
Named tier, read Oct 30, 2026
Free
10 orders/mo · Growth $19.99/mo: 100 orders/mo · Professional $59.99/mo: 300 orders/mo
Availability
Live stock and buffer times; prevents double bookings
Deposit
Advanced deposit rules for high-value stock
Agreement / liability
Not stated
Returns & late fees
Emails for upcoming bookings, returns due and late alerts
POS
Create manual rental via POS or in-app
Rating (reviews)
5.0 (26 reviews)
Rentshelfby Skytech Services LTD
Named tier, read Oct 30, 2026
Free
3 rental products, bookings up to 15 days ahead · Starter $9.99/mo: 25 rental products · Growth $19.99/mo: unlimited rental products
Availability
Per-date availability checked against stock; prevents double bookings
Deposit
Refundable deposits collected in Shopify checkout
Agreement / liability
Rental agreements with a typed-name signature, on Growth (vendor docs)
Returns & late fees
Pickups, returns and deposits in one admin calendar; reminder emails from Starter (no late fees stated)
POS
Shopify POS pickup and return check-in, from Starter
Rating (reviews)
5.0 (4 reviews — too few to read as a signal)
RentBaseby PixelTrust Solutions
Named tier, read Oct 30, 2026
Free
10 confirmed bookings/mo · Pro $29/mo: unlimited bookings
Availability
Availability in real time; blocked dates and buffers
Deposit
Security deposit management, on Free and Pro
Agreement / liability
Dynamic contracts and e-signature, on Pro
Returns & late fees
Tracks pickups and returns; automatic emails (no late fees stated)
POS
Not stated
Rating (reviews)
3.0 (1 review — too few to read as a signal)
IzyRentby SPEAZ
Named tier, read Oct 30, 2026
Free
3 products, 15 days on calendar · Pro $24.99/mo
Availability
Fully dynamic calendar — no date-by-date setup
Deposit
Deposit option and pay later
Agreement / liability
Not stated
Returns & late fees
Not stated
POS
Not stated
Rating (reviews)
4.6 (131 reviews)
Product Rentals Pro
Named tier, read Oct 30, 2026
Free
10 total rentals · Starter $19.95/mo: 50 rentals/mo · Growth $49.95/mo: 200 rentals/mo, with insurance/damage protection and security deposits · Volume $89.95/mo: 500 rentals/mo
Availability
Booking calendar on product pages; buffers by delivery method
Deposit
Security deposits, from Growth $49.95/mo
Agreement / liability
Not stated
Returns & late fees
Admin tools incl. fulfilments and returns
POS
Payment by POS for rentals created in admin
Rating (reviews)
5.0 (53 reviews)
Cowlendarby Booking Appointment Cowlendar
Named tier, read Oct 30, 2026
Free
5 bookings/mo · Starter $13.99 · Basic $29.99 · Growth $59.99
Availability
Multiday date selection, named for tours, boat and car rental
Deposit
Deposit and prepayment on its Starter, Basic and Growth cards; its free card says only "Unlimited features" and 5 bookings a month
Agreement / liability
Not stated
Returns & late fees
Not stated
POS
Not stated
Rating (reviews)
4.9 (2,258 reviews)
Wise Rentalby ORSIS
Named tier, read Oct 30, 2026
$19.90/month
Professional: unlimited rentals
Availability
Date or time based rental
Deposit
Charge rental deposits
Agreement / liability
Not stated
Returns & late fees
Not stated
POS
Not stated
Rating (reviews)
3.0 (2 reviews — too few to read as a signal)

Listing text, tiers and ratings read on the Shopify App Store on October 30, 2026; the App Store showed us EUR estimates, so Rentshelf's USD prices are from its own pricing page. App Store search renders client-side, so this is what we found that day, not a complete list of rental apps. “Not stated” means the listing we read does not claim the capability — not that the app lacks it.

What the Stack Costs Before the First Booking

Key takeaway

The Shopify side of the bill is the ordinary plan price: $39 a month billed monthly on the entry tier, or $29 a month on annual billing, in USD as of October 2026. Nothing about renting changes it.

The app side has a free lane with hard edges. Eight of the nine listings publish a free tier: five cap volume — such as FlexCon's free plan at 10 rental orders a month, Cowlendar's at 5 bookings a month and Miko's at 10 lifetime confirmed bookings rather than monthly ones — and three cap the number of products, such as IzyRent and Rentshelf at 3 products each.

The paid tiers publish ceilings too. FlexCon Growth at $19.99 a month holds 100 rental orders a month and Professional at $59.99 holds 300, Miko and Product Rentals Pro each publish 50, 200 and 500 a month across their three paid tiers, and RentBase Pro publishes unlimited bookings and Wise Rental unlimited rentals.

A paid tier's price is not really a price — it is a capability. RentBase's $29 Pro tier is what carries contracts with e-signature, Rental Booking & Deposits' $49 Professional tier is where the liability checkbox appears, and Product Rentals Pro lists insurance/damage protection on its $49.95 Growth tier. Read the tier that holds the feature you need, not the headline number.

Test the Stack Before You Pay for It

A rental store is the standard Shopify plan plus one rental app — and eight of the nine listings we read publish a free tier with a stated cap, such as 10 rental orders a month, 5 bookings a month, or 10 lifetime bookings. Open the store first and try the calendar on a real product.

Start Free Trial

When a Dedicated Rental Platform Wins Instead

Key takeaway

Two signals, and both are readable from the cards above rather than from a feeling:

  • Your set of capabilities is split across listings. In what we read, contracts with e-signature are named on RentBase's listing, multi-unit day-by-day availability on Miko's and creating a rental through POS on FlexCon's — three subscriptions, three calendars and three support queues if you need all three, which is the point where a dedicated platform enters the arithmetic. Check Rentshelf before you split: its listing names per-date availability checked against stock and Shopify POS pickup and return check-in, and its docs describe rental agreements signed with a typed name on its Growth plan.
  • Per-unit, per-day availability across a large pool. Of the nine listings we read, only Miko states "Multi-unit inventory with day-by-day overbooking prevention" in those words, so confirm per-unit, per-day behaviour on any other listing before you rely on it, and price a dedicated platform alongside whichever listing you pick.

The alternative is a category of software rather than a single product. Booqable is the platform this topic keeps surfacing, and by its own claim on its site, read on October 30, 2026, it is "Trusted by 8,500+ rental businesses across dozens of industries" — a vendor's number about itself, not an independent count.

That is a real trade rather than a defeat: you gain a purpose-built ledger and lose the single admin where your catalogue, payments and customers already live. When the rental is the whole business rather than one line of it, the trade is usually worth pricing out.

Which Rental Stack Is Yours?

The table at the top answers by what you rent. This one answers by the combination — how many units you hold, how much is at risk when something comes back late, where the handover happens, what the customer has to sign, and how many orders a month you expect — because those five together decide the tier you land on, and no single one of them decides it alone.

Which Rental Stack Is Yours?Five questions on units, risk, handover, paperwork and volume
Which Rental Stack Is Yours?Five questions on units, risk, handover, paperwork and volume
Question 1 of 5
How many of each item do you own?

The Bottom Line

Key takeaway

The platform question answers itself once you stop expecting a rental feature. What you are choosing is a rental app, and the choice has a clear order: the capability you cannot go without, then the tier that holds it, then the price. The exception is the edge where the answer stops being Shopify at all, and two signals mark it: capabilities split across listings and per-unit availability across a large pool.

Start from the one job you cannot do by hand. A calendar you can fake with discipline for a week; a deposit at checkout, a signed agreement and a per-unit date ledger you cannot. Whichever of those is true for your catalogue decides the app, and everything after it is preference.
Your Next Step by Stage
Still choosing a planThe rental app sits on top of an ordinary Shopify plan, so the plan decision comes first — here is what each tier actually changes.Shopify pricing explained
Building the stackThe rental app is one install of several — this is the rest of the stack a new store actually needs.Must-have apps for a new store
Want it built for youHave the theme, rental app, deposit settings and matching policy text set up in a scoped build, with packages from $650.See build packages

Need the Rental Stack Configured, Not Just Compared?

Calendar buffers, deposit rules and the policy text have to agree with each other before the first booking. Hourly Shopify development at $28 an hour, billed for the actual time spent with no monthly commitment, covers the app configuration and the theme work around it.

See hourly development

Frequently Asked Questions

No page we found on help.shopify.com, shopify.dev or shopify.com, read on October 30, 2026, describes renting as a built-in function. The word appears in a developer reference for a checkout UI extensions date picker, which allows a start and end date for subscriptions, rentals or booking windows. Everything else a rental needs arrives through an app you install.
With the app's own date tracking, since Shopify counts stock as a quantity with no dates attached. IzyRent describes a fully dynamic calendar you never fill in by hand, RentBase describes real-time availability with blocked dates and buffers, and FlexCon promises to prevent double bookings with live stock and buffer times. Buffers are what stop a return and a pickup colliding.
Two listings name a daily rate outright: Rental Booking & Deposits lists daily and weekly rate logic, Rentshelf daily, tiered and fixed pricing; FlexCon offers rental by date or time with duration discounts. Shopify's documentation says each variant carries its own price. Putting a day and a week on a product as two variants is our reading, not a mapping we found documented.
Through an app. The two native routes we found are Plus features: deposit requirements are documented as available only on Shopify Plus in the B2B channel, and partial payments are documented as available to stores on Plus. App listings are where deposits live otherwise — Rental Booking & Deposits collects them automatically at checkout, and Miko refunds them in one click.
Plus gates the two native money-holding routes we found — B2B deposit requirements and partial payments, both documented as Plus features. The rental listings in this guide price themselves on their own tiers instead — paid tiers from $9.99 to $99 a month — and eight of the nine publish a free tier with a stated cap.
Not among Shopify's store policies, which include return, privacy, terms of service and shipping; some can be generated automatically from your store settings. Among the nine listings we read, RentBase is the one that names dynamic contracts with e-signature, on its Pro tier at $29 a month; Rentshelf's help docs describe rental agreements with a typed-name signature on its Growth plan.
None of the nine rental listings we read documents verifying a renter's age. No Shopify page we found describes a built-in age gate in checkout, but Shopify's developer docs name verifying a customer's age or ID at checkout as a use case for a Cart and Checkout Validation Function, whose errors block checkout. Treat age as a legal question for your jurisdiction.
No Shopify page we found shows it. Shopify's inventory model defines five states — On hand, Available, Committed, Unavailable and Incoming — and none of them marks an item as out with a customer. Unavailable is a catch-all for units set aside by apps or held for other reasons, such as damage, quality control or safety stock, so the date ledger lives in the app.
If your store uses unavailable inventory states, Shopify can hold it as Unavailable, marked Damaged (its documentation lists Damaged beside Quality control, Safety stock and Other), but no inventory state we found marks an item as out with a customer. The listings handle the process rather than an inventory state — Miko manages returns, late fees and deposit refunds from one dashboard, and FlexCon sends emails for returns due and late alerts. Grading the condition itself stays a human judgement.
Three of the nine listings mention it. FlexCon documents creating a manual rental via POS or in-app; Product Rentals Pro lists POS as a way to take payment for rentals created in admin; Rentshelf lists Shopify POS pickup and return check-in on its Starter plan. The other six make no POS claim in what we read on October 30, 2026. Verify it before you install.
The paid tiers on the nine listings we read on October 30, 2026 run from $9.99 a month for Rentshelf Starter to $99 a month for Rental Booking & Deposits Enterprise. Eight of the nine publish a free tier: five cap volume, such as FlexCon at 10 rental orders a month and Cowlendar at 5 bookings a month, and three cap the number of products.
No, and the difference is the object. A subscription bills on a schedule and nothing comes back; a rental sends one unit out on specific dates and takes it back, then sells those same dates again. That is why Shopify's quantity-based inventory fits a subscription and needs an app for a rental calendar, deposit and return.
When the capabilities you need are documented by different listings, or when availability has to be tracked per unit across dozens of units. Booqable is the dedicated platform this topic surfaces; by its own claim it serves 8,500+ rental businesses, a vendor's number about itself, not an independent count.
About This Article
Shopify Developer & Editorial Director
9+ years with Shopify since 2017

Front-end developer specializing in Shopify since 2017. Experienced in building custom Liquid themes, optimizing storefront performance, and integrating third-party apps. Directs the editorial process behind Ecom Store Pro: sets its topics and the rules every AI-written page must pass before publication.

This page was written by AI. Separate AI agents that did not write it check its figures and claims against official sources and test its links and interactive tools. A human editor sets the site's editorial direction, topics and rules and checks that pages are complete and display correctly, but does not check their facts or edit their text. Details may change — always confirm critical data at shopify.com.

Editorial Policy

Some links in this article are affiliate links. If you sign up for a Shopify store through these links, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Read our full advertising policy.

Continue Learning

What to Read Next

Stay updated

Get notified about new articles

Subscribe to receive updates when we publish new Shopify guides and insights.