- Short answer
- Yes: third-party apps such as China Payments list both; native Alipay and WeChat Pay need Shopify Payments and early access.
- Native route
- Early access; each method needs your account's country on its list: Alipay 37 countries or regions, WeChat Pay 22
- Published app rate
- Of four apps we list, only China Payments states one: 2%, 1% or 0.5% per transaction, by app plan
- Refunds
- Shopify's fee is credited in proportion only for Shopify admin refunds where Shopify Payments isn't available in your store's country
When are the built-in methods out of reach?
The built-in versions run through Shopify Payments: as of October 2026 each is in early access and “isn't available to all eligible merchants”. Each method also needs your account in a country on its list: 37 countries or regions for Alipay and 22 for WeChat Pay.
On another gateway, outside those lists or without access? Use an app, or check which stores can request them.
Which apps accept Alipay and WeChat Pay?
These four App Store listings name one or both methods:
| App | Methods its listing names | Published price |
|---|---|---|
| China Payments | Alipay, WeChat Pay; for buyers in Mainland China | Monthly app plan plus 2%, 1% or 0.5% per transaction; top plan $79.9 USD/month |
| GlobePay ‑ WeChat Pay&Alipay | WeChat Pay, Alipay | Fixed rate, number not stated |
| AlphaPay | WeChat Pay, Alipay, UnionPay; CAD, USD, HKD, EUR | Per transaction, number not stated |
| Antom (Ant Intl) ‑ Alipay+ | Alipay and affiliate Asian e-wallets (Alipay+); WeChat Pay not named | Flat %, number not stated |
Listings read October 30, 2026; a snapshot, not every app that exists.
No stated rate? Ask the provider before you install, and confirm it accepts stores in your country. China Payments and AlphaPay may bill separately from your Shopify invoice.
What does Shopify charge on top of the app?
Shopify's third-party transaction fee comes “in addition to processing fees charged by your third-party payment provider”: 2% on Basic, 1% on Grow, 0.6% on Advanced and 0.2% on Plus (how the surcharge works by plan).
It applies to “third-party and alternate payment gateways, even when Shopify Payments is activated”. On refunds, your store's country decides:
If Shopify Payments is available in your store's country, then third-party transaction fees aren't returned to you when you refund an order. If Shopify Payments isn't available in your store's country, then you're credited the transaction fee in proportion to the amount that you refund.
That credit comes only when you refund through your Shopify admin.
This page was written by AI. Separate AI agents that did not write it check its figures and claims against official sources and test its links and interactive tools. A human editor sets the site's editorial direction, topics and rules and checks that pages are complete and display correctly, but does not check their facts or edit their text. Details may change — always confirm critical data at shopify.com.
Editorial Policy