Key Insights in 60 Seconds
Skim the highlights, then jump to the connector you already pay for or to the table of what it can change.
What You'll Learn
As of September 2026, Shopify's Help Center documents three ways to run your store from a chat window: the Shopify plugin for ChatGPT, the Shopify connector for Claude and the Shopify connector for Perplexity. All three connect to a store you own, and the section that documents them is explicit that shoppers who buy through AI assistants are a different topic.
That makes this three decisions rather than one: which connector, given the assistant you already pay for and whether the store exists yet; what to let it change, since some actions are read-only by design and some are blocked outright; and what stays in your admin whatever you approve. The verdict below answers the first, and the rest of the guide is the reasoning behind all three.
The Quick Verdict
Key takeaway
These rows pick by what you already have — the assistant you pay for and whether the store exists. Every connector manages a store you own with the same core: it can create and change products, collections and inventory, create percentage-off discount codes and change an unpublished theme, and it reads orders, customers and analytics without changing them (the full table is below). So the choice is mostly about the chat you live in; the capability gaps are the few actions named in that section and Perplexity's text-only answers.
Which connector, by what you already have
| Your situation | Pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| You already pay for ChatGPT and run a store | Shopify plugin for ChatGPT | Manages your store from the chat and can also build one from a preview; no extra Shopify fee |
| Your team works in a Claude workspace | Shopify connector for Claude | The same store actions except attaching a photo in the chat, plus Claude's own access controls per conversation or workspace owner |
| You use Perplexity and already own a store | Shopify connector for Perplexity | Manages an existing store only, with text-only answers — no preview and no claim |
| No store yet | A ChatGPT or Claude preview, then claim it | The claimed store starts a free trial, currently 4 months as of September 2026; Perplexity can't build one |
| You want it to refund, cancel, publish a theme or change payments, taxes or domains | Your Shopify admin | Those actions are blocked even when you approve write access |
What Are Shopify's ChatGPT, Claude and Perplexity Connectors?
Key takeaway
The names are Shopify's own — plugin for ChatGPT, connector for Claude and Perplexity — and they matter when you search, because none of the three is listed on the Shopify App Store. The Help Center pages for the ChatGPT plugin, the Claude connector and the Perplexity connector each say you install the integration directly from the AI tool, and Shopify asks you to use that official integration rather than create an API access token or build your own.
The Shopify plugin for ChatGPT and the Shopify connector for Claude can build a store from a storefront preview and manage a store that you own. The Shopify connector for Perplexity manages an existing store only.
Where the three differ is in what happens before a store exists, and in how answers come back:
The three connectors side by side
| Connector | Manages a store you own | Builds a new store from a preview | How analytics come back | Assistant subscription paid to |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shopify plugin for ChatGPT | Yes | Yes — preview, then claim | Tables and charts | OpenAI |
| Shopify connector for Claude | Yes | Yes — preview, then claim | Tables and charts | Anthropic |
| Shopify connector for Perplexity | Yes | No — existing store only | Text only | Not stated on its Shopify page, as read on September 13, 2026 |
Shopify Help Center pages for each connector, read September 13–14, 2026. Every connector also works through the Shopify Admin API for pages, blogs, menus, metafields, markets and translations, asking you to confirm first.
For the Claude route, Shopify's own Learn With Shopify channel walks through both halves in one 2026 video — building a store from a preview, then connecting Claude to run it day to day. It is a walkthrough, not the source for anything on this page; the limits above come from the Help Center.
Can ChatGPT or Claude Build a Store From a Preview?
Key takeaway
A preview is not yet your store. Shopify's setup page for AI-created stores says the store is created on Shopify before you have an account for it and starts as a trial store you can look at before taking ownership. Claiming connects it to your Shopify account and makes you the owner, and the free trial — currently 4 months as of September 2026 — begins when you claim the store, not when it was generated.
The connection does not carry over automatically. The Help Center is explicit that a store built from a preview is a new store the tool has not yet been authorized on:
If you created the store from a preview in an AI tool, such as the Shopify plugin for ChatGPT or the Shopify connector for Claude, then the tool isn't connected to your new store yet. Authorize access to the new store before the tool can make changes to it.
The preview also ships unfinished by design. Shopify's ChatGPT and Claude pages describe it as a starting point rather than a finished store, with a theme that matches the preview you chose and possibly sample content, and they tell you to review product names, descriptions, images, prices, store policies, shipping and payment settings and domain settings in your admin before you sell.
Perplexity has no preview or claim flow at all, so this route is ChatGPT and Claude only.
What These Connectors Are Not
Key takeaway
Same words, different tools
| What it is | Who uses it | What it touches | Where it's covered |
|---|---|---|---|
| The ChatGPT, Claude and Perplexity connectors | You, on a store you own | Products, collections, inventory, orders, customers, discounts and analytics; a preview and claim for ChatGPT and Claude | This guide |
| Vibe code partners: Lovable, Manus, Replit, v0 by Vercel | You, before or after you have a store | Create a store for you; the partner's app stays installed after you claim it | Our guide to the four partners |
| Agentic storefronts, Selling on ChatGPT, the Agentic plan | Shoppers who use AI assistants | Whether your products are discoverable to AI-assisted buyers | Our agentic commerce guide |
| Shopify CLI connector | Developers | API access for an AI tool on a local device; not a chat, no preview or claim | Shopify Help Center |
Shopify Help Center: the connecting-AI-tools index, the setup page for AI-created stores and the Shopify CLI connector page, read September 13–14, 2026.
The difference from the partner route is who builds and what stays connected: a partner's app stays installed once you claim, while a store from a ChatGPT or Claude preview isn't connected until you authorize it. Which of Lovable, Manus, Replit and v0 by Vercel builds what is the subject of our guide to the four vibe code partners Shopify names.
The other confusion runs the opposite way: the connectors put you in the chat, agentic commerce puts your shopper there. For products discoverable to AI-assisted buyers the Help Center points to agentic storefronts, Selling on ChatGPT and the Agentic plan, and selling through AI assistants and agentic commerce has its own guide here.
Developers have a fourth thing with a similar name: the Shopify CLI connector authorizes an AI tool on a local device to reach the Shopify API for a store from the command line — API access and nothing more, not a chat interface, and no storefront preview or claim flow.
What Can a Connected AI Tool Actually Do in Your Store?
Key takeaway
Shopify publishes the full table of actions for each connector: 29 actions for ChatGPT, 28 for Claude and 24 for Perplexity, as counted in the Help Center tables on September 14, 2026. The gap is the two storefront-preview actions, the claim and the sample-product actions Perplexity lacks, plus an image-upload action only ChatGPT has; the store-management core is the same on all three.
Find your task in the table, then read the tier it sits in:
Find your task
| Your task | What the tool does | Access | Limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Create a product | Title, description, price, variants, options and inventory tracking | Write | — |
| Update a product | Title, description, status, images, variant prices or SKUs | Write | — |
| Change product status in bulk | Active, draft or archived, by naming products or choosing a collection | Write | Up to 50 per batch |
| Collections | Create manual or smart collections; update title, description, image, sort order or rules | Write | — |
| Inventory | Check stock per variant across locations; set a quantity at a location with a reason | Write | — |
| Orders | List recent orders with customer, totals, payment and fulfillment status; read one order | Read only | Up to 50 per list |
| Customers | Reads customer records | Read only | — |
| Analytics | Answers questions about sales, orders, products, customers and fulfillment | Read only | Perplexity returns text only |
| Discount codes | Creates percentage-off codes | Write, create only | No edits to existing codes; no fixed-amount discounts |
| Theme | Changes a theme that isn't published | Write | Can't edit the live theme, publish or delete one |
| Pages, blogs, menus, metafields, markets, translations | Works through the Shopify Admin API and asks you to confirm first | Write | No dedicated action |
| Refunds, cancelling or capturing orders, marking orders as paid, returns, gift cards | Nothing — these actions are blocked even when you approve write access | Blocked | Your admin only |
| Plan, payments, taxes, domains | Nothing — a connected AI tool can't change these settings | Blocked | Your admin only |
Shopify Help Center pages for the ChatGPT plugin, the Claude connector and the Perplexity connector, and the considerations page, read September 14, 2026. The rows are the same on all three connectors.
What Stays Blocked Even With Write Access
Key takeaway
Money and order state are the clearest line. Shopify's considerations page for connected AI tools lists the actions that stay off limits no matter what access you approve:
A connected AI tool can't issue refunds, cancel or capture orders, mark orders as paid, process returns, or create and adjust gift cards. These actions are blocked even when you approve write access.
- Refunds, cancelling or capturing orders, marking orders as paid, processing returns, creating or adjusting gift cards
- Settings such as your plan, payments, taxes or domains
- Your live theme: a connected tool can change an unpublished theme but can't edit the live one, publish a theme or delete one
Two more limits sit underneath. Some connector actions are read-only by design, which the AI tool's provider controls, and Shopify says your admin is still required for payments, taxes, domains and launch readiness — the connector helps with some tasks, it doesn't replace the admin.
Why a Big Batch Can Stop Halfway
Key takeaway
Shopify warns that a connected AI tool changes items one at a time, so a large batch can stop partway, and that some actions cover only a limited number of items. The two published limits are the ones in the table: up to 50 products per status change and up to 50 orders per list.
The instruction for an unfinished batch is short: finish it in your Shopify admin. For a catalog of hundreds of products that means planning the work in batches you can check, rather than one long chat instruction.
Who Controls What the Tool Can See and Change?
Key takeaway
Shopify's page on authorizing AI tool access describes two levers — the data access you approve and the user permissions of whoever operates the tool — and the six rules below all follow from them:
The second lever is the one to plan around. The tool acts through a staff account, and that account's permissions are its ceiling, so the question before you connect is which account it should be — the owner's, or a narrower staff seat built for the job. How Shopify staff permissions are organized is the map for that decision.
On the Claude side there is one control more: its Help Center page says Claude applies its own access controls as well, so a connection can be limited to specific conversations or restricted by whoever owns your Claude workspace.
Reducing access later is not a slider. Shopify's wording is unambiguous:
To decrease the data access scope after you approve it, you have to uninstall the integration.
Where Your Store Data Goes After You Connect
Key takeaway
The considerations page draws the boundary in one sentence: after you provide access to the third-party AI tool, that data is no longer processed by Shopify, and how the tool uses, retains or processes it after it is shared isn't controlled by Shopify. That includes customer records, which the connectors read.
Responsibility follows the data. Under Section 9.9 of the Shopify Terms of Service you're responsible for your use of third-party services, including the data you share and your obligations to customers under applicable laws — Shopify names the GDPR and the CCPA as examples, not as the full list. Its page lists three things it expects of you:
- Reviewing the terms and privacy policy of the AI tool that you connect to before activating the integration.
- Ensuring that your use of connected AI tools meets your obligations to your customers under applicable laws.
- Monitoring your store for any changes that a connected AI tool makes.
One question the section doesn't answer is training. No page in the connecting-AI-tools section we read on September 13, 2026 — the considerations, authorizing-access and index pages — states whether OpenAI, Anthropic or Perplexity trains models on store data; the only statement is that Shopify no longer controls it. That makes the first duty above, reading the tool's privacy policy, the place where that answer lives (see the note under Practical limits).
What Happens If the Tool Makes a Wrong Change?
Key takeaway
Shopify's answer is blunt: if an AI tool makes an incorrect change to your store, you're responsible for that change, because actions connected AI tools take on your behalf aren't reviewed or approved by Shopify. There is no Shopify-side review between the chat and your catalog.
What the documentation gives you instead is already in your hands: reviewing any action you ask the tool to take for accuracy, monitoring your store for changes a connected tool makes, finishing a batch that stopped partway in the admin, and uninstalling the integration to end the tool's ability to read or edit anything.
Whether the tool itself keeps a change log or an undo is a question for its provider, not for Shopify: the connector pages send issues with ChatGPT, Claude or Perplexity to OpenAI, Anthropic or Perplexity AI, and issues with your Shopify account or your store to Shopify Support.
What Does It Cost to Connect ChatGPT or Claude to Shopify?
Key takeaway
Both the ChatGPT and the Claude pages answer the cost question in the same two sentences, and the answer is that Shopify's side doesn't change:
Standard Shopify plan pricing applies to a store that you create or run this way, and there's no extra Shopify fee for using the plugin. You pay any ChatGPT subscription costs to OpenAI rather than to Shopify.
So the Shopify part of the bill is the plan you would pay anyway. For a new store from a preview, the subscription is billed after the free trial ends and you choose a paid plan (the preview section covers the claim); for an existing store, nothing changes. As of September 2026, Basic is $39 a month billed monthly or $29 a month on annual billing, in USD.
Which assistant tier you need is a question for the assistant's own pricing page, not the Help Center: Shopify's pages name no amounts, and the Perplexity page, as read on September 13, 2026, carries no pricing sentence at all (see the note under Practical limits).
Who bills you for what
| Cost line | Who bills you | What Shopify's page says |
|---|---|---|
| Your Shopify plan | Shopify | Standard plan pricing applies; no extra Shopify fee for the ChatGPT plugin or the Claude connector |
| ChatGPT subscription | OpenAI | “You pay any ChatGPT subscription costs to OpenAI rather than to Shopify” |
| Claude subscription | Anthropic | The same sentence, with Claude and Anthropic |
| Perplexity subscription | Not stated on the Shopify page | No pricing sentence on the connector page, as read on September 13, 2026 |
Pricing sentences on the Shopify plugin for ChatGPT and Shopify connector for Claude pages, and the absence of one on the Perplexity page, read September 13, 2026.
Connectors vs Sidekick: Do You Need Both?
Key takeaway
Each connector page carries a version of the same disclaimer — the Perplexity page drops the line about starting a store — and the disclaimer settles the “which one” question by refusing it:
Your Shopify admin is the main place to manage your business. The plugin can help you start a store and handle some tasks, but it doesn't replace your Shopify admin, and it doesn't replace Sidekick, which is the AI assistant inside your Shopify admin.
The practical split is where you are working. A connector brings the tasks in the table into ChatGPT, Claude or Perplexity; Sidekick lives inside the admin, next to the settings the connectors can't touch. What Sidekick and Shopify Magic actually do is its own guide. If you already run a store and don't work in ChatGPT, Claude or Perplexity, a connector adds a new place to do those tasks: the products, collections, inventory, discounts and analytics in the table are also managed in your admin.
Practical Limits Before You Connect
Key takeaway
The remaining limits are operational rather than about permissions:
- One store at a time per connector — even if your stores are in the same organization; the action tables include switching to another store you own.
- Installed from the AI tool, not the App Store — and Shopify asks you to use the official integration rather than create an API access token or build your own; using one means agreeing to the Shopify API Terms.
- A desktop browser for setup — whether the plugin or connector is available on a mobile device depends on ChatGPT, Claude or Perplexity.
- Support is split — OpenAI, Anthropic or Perplexity AI for issues with the tool itself, Shopify Support for issues with your account or your store.
- Perplexity answers in text only — no storefront previews, tables or charts, no sample product browsing, and no way to generate a preview or claim a new store from it.
Plan and channel compatibility is a gap in the documentation rather than a rule. None of the six pages in the section we read on September 13, 2026 mentions Shopify Plus or Shopify POS in the context of the connectors, so if either is your setup, the honest next step is to ask Shopify Support before you build a workflow on it.
Shopify's own pages carry no launch date for any of the three. No changelog.shopify.com or shopify.com/news entry we found on September 13, 2026 names one, and the only first-party date we can point to is that Anthropic's connector directory lists the Claude connector as added in April 2026 — a date for the directory card, not necessarily for the feature.
Several statements in this guide are absences: the Perplexity page's silence on pricing, the section's silence on Shopify Plus and POS, the lack of any statement on whether the AI company trains on store data, the lack of any change log or undo for the tool's actions, and the lack of an official launch date.
Each rests on the same reading: the Shopify Help Center pages for the ChatGPT plugin, the Claude connector and the Perplexity connector, the considerations and authorizing-access pages and the section index, read on September 13 and again on September 14, 2026, plus a search of changelog.shopify.com and shopify.com/news for the launch date. The absence is the finding; if Shopify adds any of these, this note is where it changes.
Connecting It Safely: Seven Steps
Key takeaway
Steps one to four happen before you connect and decide what the tool can ever do; five to seven are how you keep it safe afterwards.
Connect an AI Tool Safely
Seven steps from reading the tool's terms to knowing how you would switch it off. Progress is saved on this device.
Shopify puts reviewing the AI tool's terms and privacy policy on you before activating the integration, because data you share is no longer processed by Shopify.
Before you tick this off
- Read the terms of the AI tool you are about to connect
- Read its privacy policy, including what it says about retention
- Accepted that data shared with the tool is handled outside Shopify
The tool never gets more than that account's permissions, so choose the account whose rights match what you want the tool to do.
Before you tick this off
- Chosen the staff account the tool will act through
- Checked that account's permissions against the tasks you plan to hand over
The tool reads by default and changes data only if you approve write access; lowering the scope later means uninstalling the integration.
Before you tick this off
- Decided whether the tool may change data or only read it
- Understood that narrowing access later means uninstalling and reconnecting
The official integration is installed from ChatGPT, Claude or Perplexity, not from the Shopify App Store, and Shopify says not to build your own connection with an API token.
Before you tick this off
- Installed from the AI tool's own install page, not from the App Store
- Set it up in a desktop browser
- Did not create an API access token for it
Changes run one item at a time and product status changes are capped at 50 per batch; the tool can change only a theme that isn't published.
Before you tick this off
- First task kept within one batch of 50 or fewer items
- Theme work pointed at an unpublished copy, never the live theme
Monitoring your store for changes the tool makes is your obligation; Shopify doesn't review the tool's actions, and an incomplete batch is finished in your Shopify admin.
Before you tick this off
- Reviewed what changed in the admin after the first sessions
- Finished any batch that stopped partway in the admin
Uninstalling the integration from your Shopify admin revokes access; after that the tool can no longer read or edit your store data.
Before you tick this off
- Know where the integration is uninstalled in the admin
- Confirmed after a test uninstall that the tool lost access
The Bottom Line
Key takeaway
The connectors are documented and bounded, which makes the decision less about risk than about fit: whether the tasks you would hand over are the ones in the table, and whether you are comfortable that the data leaves Shopify's processing once you approve access.
Frequently Asked Questions
Front-end developer specializing in Shopify since 2017. Experienced in building custom Liquid themes, optimizing storefront performance, and integrating third-party apps. Directs the editorial process behind Shopify Ecom: sets each topic, and checks facts, links, and interactive elements before publication.
This article was written entirely by AI under human editorial direction. The editor sets the topic and structure, runs multi-stage validation on facts, links, and interactive elements, and verifies the output is useful from a business perspective. All claims are checked against official Shopify sources. Details may change — always confirm critical data at shopify.com.
Editorial PolicyWhat to Read Next
Shopify AI Tools: What Sidekick & Magic Actually Do
Where Shopify's built-in AI — Sidekick and Magic — is reliable without editing, where it fails, plan limits, and when a paid AI app is worth it.
Read articleShopify Agentic Commerce: Costs & When You Need a Dev
AI agents can now buy from your Shopify store. What agentic commerce costs today, what's automatic, and when you actually need a developer.
Read articleShop App Channel: Keep It On, Redirect It, or Remove It
Shopify lists eligible stores in the Shop app automatically. The eight requirements, the three settings you control, how buyers find you, and what it costs.
Read article